Saturday, June 27, 2015

Majestic Downfall/...When Dead/Pulverised Records/2015 CD Review

  Majestic  Downfall  are  a  band  from  Mexico  that  continues  the  melodic  doom/death  metal  sound  of  previous  recordings  and mix  in  elements  of  black  metal  to  make  their  style  evolve  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2015  album  "...When  Dead"  which  will  be  released  in  August  by  Pulverised  Records.

  A  very  dark  guitar  sound  starts  off  the  album  along  with  some  drums  a  few  seconds  later  as  well  as  a  small  amount  of  clean  playing  which  leads  up  to  a  heavier  musical  direction  along  with  some  solos  and  leads  that  become  a  huge  part  of  the  recording  with  their  melodic  approach  to  doom  metal. 

  When  the  music  speeds  up  you  can  easily  hear  the  black  metal  influence  along  with  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  while  the  vocals  are  in  more  of  a  death  metal  growling  style  and  most  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  and  the  slower  sections  remain  true  to  a  90's  influences  style  of  melodic  doom/death  metal.

   Clean  playing  being  utilized  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  one  of  the  later  tracks  also  brings  in  a  small  amount  of  whispers  and  atmospheric  elements.

  Majestic  Downfall  creates  another  album  that  is  in  the  melodic  style  of  doom/death  metal  but  also  mix  in  more  elements  of  black  metal  this  time  around  to  make  their  musical  style  evolve,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  human  disgust.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Majestic  Downfall  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  blackened  doom/death  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Escape  My  Thought"  and  "The  Rain  Of  The  Dead".  8  out  of  10. 


No comments:

Post a Comment